Access to Information Orders

Decision Information

Summary:

The appellant submitted an access request under the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (the Act) to the Township of Russell (the township) for the evaluation grids for 20 properties that were evaluated by members of a subcommittee as part of an initiative to relocate the Embrun Branch Library. The township provided the appellant with access to some information from these records but withheld other information under the mandatory exemption in section 14(1) (personal privacy) of the Act. The appellant appealed the township’s decision to this office. At adjudication, the only information remaining at issue was the names of the four evaluators who assigned scores to various properties as possible sites for the relocation of the library. In this order, the adjudicator finds that the evaluators’ names, as they appear in the evaluation grids, do not constitute their “personal information.” Because the section 14(1) exemption only applies to “personal information,” these names cannot be exempt from disclosure under that provision. He orders the township to disclose the evaluation grids to the appellant in full, including the names of the four evaluators on all of the pages where these names appear.

Decision Content

Logo of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario, Canada / Logo du Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario, Canada

ORDER MO-3906

Appeal MA18-450

Township of Russell

February 27, 2020

Summary: The appellant submitted an access request under the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act  (the Act ) to the Township of Russell (the township) for the evaluation grids for 20 properties that were evaluated by members of a subcommittee as part of an initiative to relocate the Embrun Branch Library. The township provided the appellant with access to some information from these records but withheld other information under the mandatory exemption in section 14(1)  (personal privacy) of the Act . The appellant appealed the township’s decision to this office. At adjudication, the only information remaining at issue was the names of the four evaluators who assigned scores to various properties as possible sites for the relocation of the library. In this order, the adjudicator finds that the evaluators’ names, as they appear in the evaluation grids, do not constitute their “personal information.” Because the section 14(1) exemption only applies to “personal information,” these names cannot be exempt from disclosure under that provision. He orders the township to disclose the evaluation grids to the appellant in full, including the names of the four evaluators on all of the pages where these names appear.

Statutes Considered: Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.56 , as amended, sections 2(1)  (definition of “personal information”), 2(2.1) and 14(1).

OVERVIEW:

[1]  The mandatory personal privacy exemption in section 14(1)  of the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act  (the Act ) only applies to “personal information.” The issues to be resolved in this appeal are whether the names of four evaluators who assigned scores to various properties as possible sites for the relocation of a library are the “personal information” of these individuals, as that term is defined in section 2(1)  of the Act , and if so, whether these names are exempt from disclosure under section 14(1) .

[2]  By way of background, the Township of Russell (the township) issued a call for expressions of interest relating to the relocation of the Embrun Branch Library. Four members of an ad hoc committee established by the township known as the Joint Subcommittee on the Relocation of the Embrun Branch Library served as evaluators and assigned scores to various properties that were recorded on documents known as evaluation grids.

[3]  This appeal arises from an access request that the appellant submitted under the Act  to the township for the evaluation grids for 20 properties that were evaluated by members of the subcommittee.

[4]  The township located the responsive records and granted the appellant partial access to them. It disclosed the blank evaluation grid and a table with the total scores for each of the properties evaluated. It further advised the appellant that it was withholding the remaining information in the records under section 14(1)  of the Act .

[5]  The appellant appealed the township’s decision to this office, which assigned a mediator to assist the parties in resolving the issues in dispute. During mediation, the township disclosed additional information to the appellant. Specifically, it disclosed the completed evaluation grid sheet for each property but severed the evaluators’ names on each grid under section 14(1)  of the Act . The appellant confirmed his interest in pursuing access to the evaluators’ names and raised the possible application of the public interest override in section 16  of the Act  to the information at issue.

[6]  This appeal was not resolved in mediation and was transferred to adjudication, where an adjudicator may conduct an inquiry. This appeal was initially assigned to another adjudicator but was transferred to me because some of the parties requested that they be communicated to in French. I solicited and received representations on the issues to be resolved from the township and the four evaluators. After reviewing these representations, I decided that it was not necessary to seek representations from the appellant.

[7]  In this order, I find that the evaluators’ names, as they appear in the evaluation grids, do not constitute their “personal information.” These names identify the evaluators in a professional or official capacity, which means that this information is excluded from the definition of “personal information” by virtue of section 2(2.1)  of the Act . In addition, the evaluators provided their opinions or views of various properties (through the scoring process) in a professional or official capacity, not in a personal capacity. Consequently, disclosing their names in conjunction with their opinions or views would not reveal anything of a personal nature about them.

[8]  Because the mandatory personal privacy exemption in section 14(1)  only applies to “personal information,” the four evaluators’ names cannot be exempt from disclosure under that provision. I order the township to disclose the evaluation grids to the appellant in full, including the names of the four evaluators on all of the pages where these names appear.

RECORDS:

[9]  There are 26 pages of evaluation grids. The only information at issue is the names of the evaluators at the top of each grid.

DISCUSSION:

Are the evaluators’ names “personal information,” as that term is defined in section 2(1)  of the Act ?

[10]  The mandatory exemption in section 14(1)  of the Act  only applies to “personal information.” Consequently, it must be determined whether the evaluators’ names are their “personal information.” That term is defined in section 2(1)  as follows:

“personal information” means recorded information about an identifiable individual, including,

    • information relating to the race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation or marital or family status of the individual,

    • information relating to the education or the medical, psychiatric, psychological, criminal or employment history of the individual or information relating to financial transactions in which the individual has been involved,

    • any identifying number, symbol or other particular assigned to the individual,

    • the address, telephone number, fingerprints or blood type of the individual,

    • the personal opinions or views of the individual except if they relate to another individual,

    • correspondence sent to an institution by the individual that is implicitly or explicitly of a private or confidential nature, and replies to that correspondence that would reveal the contents of the original correspondence,

    • the views or opinions of another individual about the individual, and

    • the individual’s name if it appears with other personal information relating to the individual or where the disclosure of the name would reveal other personal information about the individual;

[11]  The list of examples of personal information under section 2(1)  is not exhaustive. Therefore, information that does not fall under paragraphs (a) to (h) may still qualify as personal information. [1]

[12]  To qualify as personal information, it must be reasonable to expect that an individual may be identified if the information is disclosed. [2]

[13]  Sections 2(2.1)  and (2.2)  also relate to the definition of personal information. These sections state:

(2.1) Personal information does not include the name, title, contact information or designation of an individual that identifies the individual in a business, professional or official capacity.

(2.2) For greater certainty, subsection (2.1) applies even if an individual carries out business, professional or official responsibilities from their dwelling and the contact information for the individual relates to that dwelling.

[14]  To qualify as personal information, the information must be about the individual in a personal capacity. As a general rule, information associated with an individual in a professional, official or business capacity will not be considered to be “about” the individual. [3]

[15]   Even if information relates to an individual in a professional, official or business capacity, it may still qualify as personal information if the information reveals something of a personal nature about the individual. [4]

[16]  For the reasons that follow, I find that the evaluators’ names, as they appear in the evaluation grids, do not constitute their “personal information.”

[17]  In its representations, the township states that the evaluators’ names, as they appear in the records, fall within paragraph (e) of the definition of “personal information” in section 2(1)  of the Act , which states that personal information includes “the personal opinions or views of the individual except if they relate to another individual.” In particular, the township states:

. . . When the name of each evaluator is disclosed and associated with their individual evaluation, their personal opinion and personal points of view on the examined proposals relate to other individuals. The exception set out in subsection 2(1)  of the Act  applies in this case within the meaning of subsection 2(1)  of the Act : “(e) the personal opinions or views of the individual except if they relate to another individual.” [translation]

[18]  In their representations, the four evaluators agree with the township’s claim that their names fall within paragraph (e) of the definition of “personal information” in section 2(1) .

[19]  I have reviewed the records at issue and considered the parties’ representations. In my view, the evaluators’ names, as they appear in the evaluation grids, do not constitute their “personal information.”

[20]  As noted above, section 2(2.1)  of the Act  states, in part, that personal information does not include the name of an individual that identifies the individual in a business, professional or official capacity. Consequently, it must be determined whether the evaluators’ names, as they appear in the evaluation grids, identify them in a business, professional or official capacity. In their representations, neither the township nor the evaluators address whether the names are excluded from the definition of “personal information” by section 2(2.1) .

[21]  The Joint Subcommittee on the Relocation of the Embrun Branch Library was established by the township. The four evaluators who served on this subcommittee and assigned scores to various properties as possible sites for relocation of the library clearly did so in a professional or official capacity, not in a personal capacity. I find, therefore, that the names of the four evaluators, as they appear in the evaluation grids, identify them in a professional or official capacity, and these names are therefore excluded from the definition of “personal information” by virtue of section 2(2.1)  of the Act .

[22]  In addition, I am not persuaded that disclosing the evaluators’ names in conjunction with the scores that each evaluator assigned to various properties would constitute the “personal opinions or views” of the evaluators, as contemplated by paragraph (e) of the definition of “personal information” in section 2(1) . The evaluators provided their opinions or views (through the scoring process) in a professional or official capacity, not in a personal capacity. Consequently, I find that disclosing their names in conjunction with their opinions or views would not reveal anything of a personal nature about them.

[23]  In these circumstances, I find that the evaluators’ names do not constitute their “personal information,” as that term is defined in section 2(1)  of the Act . The mandatory personal privacy exemption in section 14(1)  only applies to “personal information.” Given that the four evaluators’ names, as they appear in the evaluation grids, is not their “personal information,” these names cannot be exempt from disclosure under section 14(1) . I find, therefore, that these names cannot be redacted from the evaluation grids and must be disclosed to the appellant.

ORDER:

  1. The appeal is allowed. I order the township to disclose the evaluation grids to the appellant in full, including the names of the four evaluators on all of the pages where these names appear.
  2. The township must disclose these records to the appellant by April 2, 2020 but not before March 28, 2020.
  3. In order to verify that the township has complied with this order, I reserve the right to require it to provide me with a copy of the records that it discloses to the appellant.

Original signed by

 

February 27, 2020

Colin Bhattacharjee

 

 

Adjudicator

 

 

 



[1] Order 11.

[2] Order PO-1880, upheld on judicial review in Ontario (Attorney General) v. Pascoe, [2002] O.J. No. 4300 (C.A.).

[3] Orders P-257, P-427, P-1412, P-1621, R-980015, MO-1550-F and PO-2225.

[4] Orders P-1409, R-980015, PO-2225 and MO-2344.

 You are being directed to the most recent version of the statute which may not be the version considered at the time of the judgment.

Access to Information Orders

Informations sur la décision

Résumé :

L’appelant a présenté une demande d’accès à l’information en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information municipale et la protection de la vie privée (la « Loi ») à la municipalité de Russell (la « municipalité ») afin d’obtenir les grilles d’évaluation de 20 propriétés qui ont été évaluées par un sous-comité dans le cadre d’une initiative visant à relocaliser la succursale Embrun de la bibliothèque publique. La municipalité a accordé à l’appelant l’accès à certains renseignements contenus dans ces documents, mais il a refusé de divulguer le reste en invoquant l’exception obligatoire énoncée au paragraphe 14 (1) de la Loi. L’appelant a interjeté appel de la décision de la municipalité à notre bureau. Lors de l’arbitrage, les seuls renseignements qui demeuraient en litige étaient les noms des quatre évaluateurs qui avaient attribué des scores à différentes propriétés en tant qu’emplacements possibles de la nouvelle bibliothèque. Dans la présente ordonnance, l’arbitre conclut que les noms des évaluateurs figurant dans les grilles d’évaluation ne sont pas des « renseignements personnels » sur ces évaluateurs. Étant donné que l’exception du paragraphe 14 (1) s’applique uniquement aux « renseignements personnels », ces noms ne peuvent être soustraits à la divulgation en vertu de cette disposition. Il ordonne à la municipalité de divulguer l’intégralité des grilles d’évaluation à l’appelant, y compris les noms des quatre évaluateurs sur toutes les pages où ces noms apparaissent.

Contenu de la décision

Logo of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario, Canada / Logo du Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario, Canada

ORDONNANCE MO-3906

Appel MA18-450

Municipalité de Russell

Le 27 février 2020

Résumé : L’appelant a présenté une demande d’accès à l’information en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information municipale et la protection de la vie privée  (la « Loi  ») à la municipalité de Russell (la « municipalité ») afin d’obtenir les grilles d’évaluation de 20 propriétés qui ont été évaluées par un sous-comité dans le cadre d’une initiative visant à relocaliser la succursale Embrun de la bibliothèque publique. La municipalité a accordé à l’appelant l’accès à certains renseignements contenus dans ces documents, mais il a refusé de divulguer le reste en invoquant l’exception obligatoire énoncée au paragraphe 14 (1)  de la Loi . L’appelant a interjeté appel de la décision de la municipalité à notre bureau. Lors de l’arbitrage, les seuls renseignements qui demeuraient en litige étaient les noms des quatre évaluateurs qui avaient attribué des scores à différentes propriétés en tant qu’emplacements possibles de la nouvelle bibliothèque. Dans la présente ordonnance, l’arbitre conclut que les noms des évaluateurs figurant dans les grilles d’évaluation ne sont pas des « renseignements personnels » sur ces évaluateurs. Étant donné que l’exception du paragraphe 14 (1)  s’applique uniquement aux « renseignements personnels », ces noms ne peuvent être soustraits à la divulgation en vertu de cette disposition. Il ordonne à la municipalité de divulguer l’intégralité des grilles d’évaluation à l’appelant, y compris les noms des quatre évaluateurs sur toutes les pages où ces noms apparaissent.

Dispositions législatives pertinentes : Paragraphes 2 (1) (définition de « renseignements personnels »), 2 (2.1) et 14 (1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information municipale et la protection de la vie privée, L.R.O. 1990, chap. M.56 , telle que modifiée.

APERÇU

[1]  L’exception obligatoire fondée sur la vie privée du paragraphe 14 (1)  de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information municipale et la protection de la vie privée  (la « Loi  ») s’applique uniquement aux « renseignements personnels ». Les questions à trancher dans cet appel consistent à savoir si les noms des quatre évaluateurs qui ont attribué des scores à différentes propriétés en tant qu’emplacements possibles de la bibliothèque sont des « renseignements personnels » sur ces particuliers, au sens du paragraphe 2 (1)  de la Loi  et, le cas échéant, si ces noms sont soustraits à la divulgation aux termes du paragraphe 14 (1) .

[2]  La municipalité de Russell (la « municipalité ») a émis une demande de manifestations d’intérêt pour la relocalisation de la succursale Embrun de la bibliothèque publique. Quatre membres d’un comité spécial constitué par la municipalité, appelé Sous- comité conjoint sur la relocalisation de la succursale Embrun de la bibliothèque, ont fait office d’évaluateurs et ont attribué des scores à différentes propriétés, lesquels ont été consignés dans des documents appelés grilles d’évaluation.

[3]  Cet appel fait suite à une demande d’accès que l’appelant a présentée à la municipalité en vertu de la Loi  pour obtenir les grilles d’évaluation de 20 propriétés évaluées par les membres du sous-comité.

[4]  La municipalité a localisé les documents pertinents et a accordé à l’appelant un accès partiel à ces documents. Il a divulgué la grille d’évaluation vierge et un tableau indiquant le score total pour chacune des propriétés évaluées. Il a également précisé à l’appelant qu’il ne lui divulguerait pas le reste des renseignements contenus dans les documents en vertu du paragraphe 14 (1)  de la Loi .

[5]  L’appelant a interjeté appel de la décision de la municipalité au CIPVP, qui a nommé un médiateur pour aider les parties à résoudre les questions en litige. Pendant la médiation, la municipalité a divulgué des renseignements supplémentaires à l’appelant. Plus précisément, il a divulgué la grille d’évaluation remplie pour chaque propriété, mais a caviardé le nom des évaluateurs dans chaque grille en vertu du paragraphe 14 (1)  de la Loi . L’appelant a confirmé qu’il souhaitait obtenir les noms des évaluateurs, et a mentionné que l’article 16  de la Loi , qui porte sur la nécessité manifeste de divulguer les renseignements dans l’intérêt public, pourrait s’appliquer aux renseignements en cause.

[6]  Cet appel n’a pas été réglé par la médiation et a été renvoyé à l’arbitrage, dans le cadre duquel un arbitre peut mener une enquête. Cet appel avait été confié au départ à un autre arbitre, mais il m’a été confié par la suite, car certaines des parties ont demandé que l’on communique avec elles en français. La municipalité et les quatre évaluateurs m’ont fait parvenir, à ma demande, des observations sur les questions en litige. Après avoir examiné ces observations, j’ai décidé qu’il n’était pas nécessaire de demander à l’appelant de fournir lui aussi des observations.

[7]  Dans la présente ordonnance, je conclus que les noms des évaluateurs, tels qu’ils figurent dans les grilles d’évaluation, ne représentent pas des « renseignements personnels » concernant ces évaluateurs. Ces noms servent à identifier les évaluateurs par rapport à leurs attributions professionnelles ou officielles, et ils sont donc exclus de la définition de « renseignements personnels » aux termes du paragraphe 2 (2.1)  de la Loi . De plus, les évaluateurs ont fourni leurs opinions ou points de vue sur différentes propriétés (par l’entremise du processus d’évaluation) dans le cadre de leurs attributions professionnelles ou officielles, et non à titre personnel. Par conséquent, divulguer leurs noms de même que leurs opinions ou points de vue ne révélerait rien de personnel à leur sujet.

[8]  Étant donné que l’exception obligatoire fondée sur la vie privée du paragraphe 14 (1)  s’applique uniquement aux « renseignements personnels », les noms des quatre évaluateurs ne peuvent être soustraits à la divulgation en vertu de cette disposition. J’ordonne à la municipalité de divulguer l’intégralité des grilles d’évaluation à l’appelant, y compris les noms des quatre évaluateurs sur toutes les pages où ces noms apparaissent.

DOCUMENTS

[9]  Il y a 26 pages de grilles d’évaluation. Les seuls renseignements en cause sont les noms des évaluateurs qui figurent dans le haut de chaque grille.

EXPOSÉ

Les noms des évaluateurs constituent-ils des « renseignements personnels » au sens du paragraphe 2 (1)  de la Loi ?

[10]  L’exception obligatoire prévue au paragraphe 14 (1)  de la Loi  ne s’applique qu’aux « renseignements personnels ». Par conséquent, il faut établir si les noms des évaluateurs sont leurs « renseignements personnels ». Cette expression est définie au paragraphe 2 (1)  de la Loi  :

« renseignements personnels » Renseignements consignés ayant trait à un particulier qui peut être identifié. S’entend notamment :

a.  des renseignements concernant la race, l’origine nationale ou ethnique, la couleur, la religion, l’âge, le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’état matrimonial ou familial de celui-ci;

b.  des renseignements concernant l’éducation, les antécédents médicaux, psychiatriques, psychologiques, criminels ou professionnels de ce particulier ou des renseignements reliés à sa participation à une opération financière;

c.  d’un numéro d’identification, d’un symbole ou d’un autre signe individuel qui lui est attribué;

d.  de l’adresse, du numéro de téléphone, des empreintes digitales ou du groupe sanguin de ce particulier;

e.  de ses opinions ou de ses points de vue personnels, sauf s’ils se rapportent à un autre particulier;

f.  de la correspondance ayant explicitement ou implicitement un caractère personnel et confidentiel, adressée par le particulier à une institution, de même que des réponses à cette correspondance originale susceptibles d’en révéler le contenu;

g.  des opinions et des points de vue d’une autre personne au sujet de ce particulier;

h.  du nom du particulier, s’il figure parmi d’autres renseignements personnels qui le concernent, ou si sa divulgation risque de révéler d’autres renseignements personnels au sujet du particulier.

[11]  La liste d’exemples donnée au paragraphe 2 (1)  n’est pas exhaustive. Par conséquent, des renseignements qui n’entrent pas dans les catégories mentionnées aux alinéas a) à h) peuvent tout de même être considérés comme des renseignements personnels [1] .

[12]  Pour que des renseignements soient considérés comme des renseignements personnels, il faut qu’on puisse raisonnablement s’attendre à ce qu’un particulier puisse être identifié si les renseignements sont divulgués [2] .

[13]  Les paragraphes 2 (2.1)  et (2.2)  se rapportent également à la définition de renseignements personnels. Ils sont libellés comme suit :

(2.1) Les renseignements personnels excluent le nom, le titre, les coordonnées et la désignation d’un particulier qui servent à l’identifier par rapport à ses activités commerciales ou à ses attributions professionnelles ou officielles.

(2.2) Il est entendu que le paragraphe (2.1) s’applique même si un particulier exerce des activités commerciales ou des attributions professionnelles ou officielles depuis son logement et que ses coordonnées se rapportent à ce logement.

[14]  Pour être considérés comme des renseignements personnels, les renseignements doivent avoir trait aux aspects personnels de la vie d’un particulier. En général, les renseignements qui concernent les aspects professionnels, officiels ou commerciaux de la vie d’un particulier ne sont pas considérés comme « ayant trait à un particulier » [3] .

[15]  Cependant, si les renseignements concernent les aspects professionnels, officiels ou commerciaux d’un particulier, ils peuvent tout de même être considérés comme des renseignements personnels s’ils dévoilent une ou des choses de nature personnelle concernant ce particulier [4] .

[16]  Pour les motifs qui suivent, je conclus que les noms des évaluateurs, tels qu’ils figurent dans les grilles d’évaluation, ne constituent pas des « renseignements personnels » à leur sujet.

[17]  Dans ses observations, la municipalité affirme que les noms des évaluateurs, tels qu’ils figurent dans les documents, sont visés par l’alinéa e) de la définition de « renseignements personnels » au paragraphe 2 (1)  de la Loi , qui prévoit que les renseignements personnels d’un particulier s’entendent notamment « de ses opinions ou de ses points de vue personnels, sauf s’ils se rapportent à un autre particulier ». La municipalité souligne notamment :

. . . [L]orsque le nom de chaque évaluateur est révélé et associé à son évaluation individuelle, son opinion personnelle et ses points de vue personnels sur les propositions étudiées se rapportent à d’autres particuliers. L’exception prévue au paragraphe 2(1)  de la Loi  s’applique dans ce cas au sens du paragraphe 2 (1)  de la Loi  : « e) de ses opinions ou de ses points de vue personnels, sauf s’ils se rapportent à un autre particulier ».

[18]  Dans leurs observations, les quatre évaluateurs conviennent avec la municipalité que leurs noms sont visés par l’alinéa e) de la définition de « renseignements personnels » au paragraphe 2 (1)  de la Loi .

[19]  J’ai examiné les documents en cause et les observations des parties. À mon avis, les noms des évaluateurs, tels qu’ils figurent dans les grilles d’évaluation, ne représentent pas des « renseignements personnels » qui les concernent.

[20]  Comme il est mentionné plus haut, le paragraphe 2 (2.1)  de la Loi  prévoit notamment que les renseignements personnels excluent le nom d’un particulier qui sert à l’identifier par rapport à ses activités commerciales ou à ses attributions professionnelles ou officielles. Par conséquent, il faut déterminer si les noms des évaluateurs, tels qu’ils figurent dans les grilles d’évaluation, servent à les identifier par rapport à leurs activités commerciales ou à leurs attributions professionnelles ou officielles. Dans leurs observations, ni la municipalité ni les évaluateurs n’abordent la question de savoir si ces noms sont exclus de la définition de « renseignements personnels » aux termes du paragraphe 2 (2.1) .

[21]  La municipalité a constitué le Sous-comité conjoint sur la relocalisation de la succursale Embrun de la bibliothèque. Les quatre évaluateurs qui siégeaient à ce sous- comité et attribuaient des scores à différentes propriétés en vue de choisir un emplacement pour la bibliothèque l’ont fait manifestement dans le cadre de leurs attributions professionnelles ou officielles et non à titre personnel. J’estime donc que les noms des quatre évaluateurs, tels qu’ils figurent dans les grilles d’évaluation, les identifient par rapport à leurs attributions personnelles ou officielles, et qu’il sont donc exclus de la définition de « renseignements personnels » en vertu du paragraphe 2 (2.1)  de la Loi .

[22]  En outre, je ne suis pas convaincu que les noms de ces derniers de même que les scores que chaque évaluateur a attribués aux différentes propriétés représentent les « opinions ou points de vue personnels » des évaluateurs aux termes de l’alinéa e) de la définition de « renseignements personnels » figurant au paragraphe 2 (1) . Les évaluateurs ont donné leurs opinions ou points de vue (par l’entremise du processus d’évaluation) dans le cadre de leurs attributions professionnelles ou officielles et non à titre personnel. Je conclus donc que la divulgation de leurs noms de même que de leurs opinions ou points de vue ne révélerait rien de personnel à leur sujet.

[23]  Dans ces circonstances, je conclus que les noms des évaluateurs ne représentent pas des « renseignements personnels » qui les concernent au sens du paragraphe 2 (1)  de la Loi . Or, l’exception obligatoire fondée sur la vie privée énoncée au paragraphe 14 (1)  s’applique uniquement aux « renseignements personnels ». Étant donné que les noms des quatre évaluateurs, tels qu’ils figurent dans les grilles d’évaluation, ne sont pas des « renseignements personnels » qui les concernent, ils ne peuvent être soustraits à la divulgation en vertu du paragraphe 14 (1) . Je conclus donc que ces noms figurant dans les grilles d’évaluation ne peuvent être caviardés, et qu’ils doivent être divulgués à l’appelant.

ORDONNANCE

  1. L’appel est accueilli. J’ordonne à la municipalité de divulguer l’intégralité des grilles d’évaluation à l’appelant, y compris les noms des quatre évaluateurs sur toutes les pages où ces noms apparaissent.
  2. La municipalité doit divulguer ces documents à l’appelant d’ici le 2 avril 2020 mais pas avant le 28 mars 2020.
  3. Pour vérifier la conformité de la municipalité à la présente ordonnance, je me réserve le droit de l’obliger à me remettre une copie des documents divulgués à l’appelant.

Original signé par

 

Le 27 février 2020

Colin Bhattacharjee

 

 

Arbitre

 

 

 



[1] Ordonnance 11.

[2] Ordonnance PO-1880, confirmée en révision judiciaire dans Ontario (Attorney General) v. Pascoe, [2002] O.J. No. 4300 (C.A.).

[3] Ordonnances P-257, P-427, P-1412, P-1621, R-980015, MO-1550-F et PO-2225.

[4] Ordonnances P-1409, R-980015, PO-2225 et MO-2344.

 Vous allez être redirigé vers la version la plus récente de la loi, qui peut ne pas être la version considérée au moment où le jugement a été rendu.